What is project level / project scope
In OneDesk, work is organized into projects. Projects can be used for planning, organization and for privacy and permissions. If a project is not shared with you, you will not see that project or the tickets, tasks, or other data that project contains. As such, some users may see different data than others. Even if all projects are shared with you, you might not see all data due to your current project level or project scope. Project scope defines the current project (or portfolio) you are viewing.
Project scope is indicated on the top left sidebar. This tool is called the project scope selector. Click the scope selector to widen or narrow the scope.
From this menu, you can see all projects you have access to, request access, share projects, and more.
Important points about project scope
The scope selector functions independently of custom views
Project scope is independent of custom work views, it works on top of the filters or grouping you select. In other words the project scope is not saved to a custom view but rather can be selected at any time.
Changes made from the scope selector are not saved to custom views.
For example, if you create a custom view called my to-do list. The view filters tickets to those assigned to yourself. If you are in the ‘All projects’ scope you will be seeing tickets assigned to you in all projects. But if you select a different project from the scope selector, for example ‘Project A’, you will see tickets assigned to you in ‘Project A.’ In this case the project filter is NOT saved to the custom view, it is an independent selection. (If you want to filter a project and save this to a custom view, you should use the filter in the custom view side panel NOT the scope selector).
The project scope is remembered as your preference
When you log out in ‘Project A’ scope you will still be in this scope when you log in again. (Note: This preference does not apply to archived projects or projects scheduled for deletion).
Scope is followed between applications
If you are in ‘Project A’ in the tickets app and move to tasks app you will still be in ‘Project A’.
Project scope is relevant in all views and applications.
You can select the scope in all OneDesk's main apps - tickets, tasks, projects, timesheets, customers, users, analytics (charts), articles, and financials.
Why does project scope matter?
Remember scope when looking for data
If a colleague sees something different than you they might be in a different project scope. Go to the scope selector to see the projects you have access to and select the desired scope.
If you expect more data it may be due to a limited project scope
Use project scope to simplify your custom views
Project scope can be handy for quickly seeing data within specific projects. You can easily see what needs to be done in each project by selecting the scope, without needing to explicitly filter or create unique custom views for each project
Use the project scope to view work archived, recently deleted, or not shared projects
The tag in the top right of the scope selector allows you to display different types of projects in the scope menu. Clicking the tag will open an additional panel on the right side. You can display projects that are:
- Followed (Projects shared with you which are not scheduled for deleted/archived).
- Archived (Archived projects or 'archival projects' which contain individually archived items).
- Scheduled for deletion (Projects deleted less than 7 days ago. Plus, the 'deleted items' project which contains individual items which have been deleted in the last 7 days).
- Not shared (Projects not shared with you. Admin can join or browse these projects. Non-admins can request access).
- Open the scope selector.
- Click the tag in the right corner. The right side panel will open.
- Select which kind of projects to display. The scope selector menu on the left will change accordingly.
You can then proceed to select from the left menu which project(s) to display in your grid.
Depending on whether you are viewing followed, not shared, or archived, hovering a project in the scope menu allows you to:
- Sharing a project (When viewing the 'followed projects' menu)
- Join/request to join a project (When viewing the 'not shared' menu)
- Restore recently deleted (When viewing the 'scheduled for deletion' menu)
- Un-archive (When viewing the 'not shared' menu)
- Work Structure and Organization
- Custom Work Views
- Project Discoverability
- Sharing Projects with Users
- Project Roles and Permissions