In addition to portfolios and projects, folders are used to organize your tickets and tasks. Folders are contained within projects. Use folders to maintain an extra level of control over where tickets and tasks end up once they are already inside a project, or in your outside of projects section of OneDesk.
Create a folder
To create a folder:
- Click the “Add” button at the top of the screen.
- Select 'Folder'.
When you make a folder you are prompted to place it in a project. If you do not want to place the folder in a project, it will default to the “Outside of Projects” section.
Changing folder visibility
Once you have made a folder, it is visible inside your Tickets and Tasks applications under the project you placed it in, or the outside of projects section.
Empty folders are visible by default - this can be changed in your view settings for custom views.
Note that folders are not visible in the “Flat” and “Calendar” layouts.
Using your folders
Placing items in folders
To place tickets and tasks into your folders you can do so in two ways:
1.In the folder tree layout, select any items you wish to move, and then drag and drop them underneath the folder. The items are automatically added into the folder. Items in folders can be moved in their entirety by selecting the folder and dragging it to a new location.
2.In the item's detail panel, click the project selector. In the project dropdown, click the arrow beside the project to show all folders within it. Then, select the folder you wish to place the item in.
The folder’s percentage complete is calculated through the sum of all percentages inside the folder, divided by the amount of items inside the folder. So a folder with three items of completion 100%, 50%, and 25%, will have a percentage complete of 58% in your grid view (1.75/3).
Folders can have their lifecycle status, associated project, and priority changed by double clicking on them to access their detail panel.
You can edit existing lifecycle statuses for folders, or create your own custom statuses by selecting the lifecycle status and choosing “Configure Statuses”.
Many details about folders can be edited by selecting the three dots in the “Actions” column beside the folder - you can insert additional folders, indent the folder to create folders inside of folders, clone the folder, and more.
In the card layout, items contained in folders are shown within their respective folder.
You can select the arrow on the folder’s right-hand side to collapse the folder, cleaning up your view.
If you change the card layout’s grouping to “Project”, moving your item’s from column to column in this view will take them out of their original folder.
Folders in the Gantt layout function similarly to projects and portfolios, showing a breakdown of your workload and workflow for all items inside the folder.
Lighter blocks of time beside the folder indicate fewer overlapping items, whereas darker blocks indicate more. Using folders in the Gantt view is another way of seeing how heavy your workload is on a smaller basis than an entire portfolio or project level.
Folders can be manipulated from this layout using the three dots beside their selection checkbox. Folders can be in/outdented, deleted, and modified similarly to how they can in the tree layout.
You can move folders to other projects or into other folders. Performing this action will also move all items within the folder (tickets, tasks, other folders). Like moving items into folders, this action can be performed in two ways:
1.In the folder tree view, select then drag and drop the folder into the new location.
2.From the folder's detail panel click the project selector. Select the new project or folder you wish to move the folder into.
Folders can be deleted in the tree and Gantt layouts by selecting the Actions button (three dots) and choosing “Delete”. Existing conversations in the folder will be unlinked. Note that when you delete a folder, the items inside are not deleted. This is to avoid accidentally deleting large amounts of tickets or tasks at once.
Unlike deleting tickets, tasks, and projects, deleting a folder is immediate and permanent in OneDesk. Items inside the folder will simply no longer belong to the deleted folder, but will remain in the designated project or outside of projects section which they were in beforehand. These items can then be added to other folders as needed.